Wildtree Wednesday {Crockpot Applesauce}

I really enjoy grocery shopping at Super Target.  I think it’s because for the most part, the quality of the product is better than the other grocery store near me and for the most part they have a good organic selection.  I bought a bag of organic Granny Smith organic apples (because they’re one of the “Dirty Dozen” that you should always buy in organic).

Unfortunately, they were rock hard and I could barely bite through them despite the great flavor.  So what is a girl to do?  Turn lemons into lemonade (errrr apples into applesauce, as it were).

It couldn’t get much easier than this–core, peel and chop the apples.  Put in crockpot.  Add a bit o’ water and about a tablespoon of Wildtree Oatmeal Mix-In: Sugar and Spice.  I did 3 apples to about 1/4 cup of water.  Cook on high for about 3 hours and then mash til you get to your desired consistency.

I’ve heard it’s ah-mah-zing on top of oatmeal (crockpot overnight oats anyone?) and just plain.  I can’t wait to have it as my afternoon snack tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

