Advanced Cooking 101

I’d consider myself a pretty good cook.  Not only can I make a mean Hamburger Helper, I can do the fancy stuff too.  Boeuf Bourguignon? Easy peasy (well, as long as you remember that you just had this pan in the oven for hours and don’t grab onto the handle burning your entire hand…)  Risotto?  Mastered it.  Lobster Bisque? Way easier than it seems.

I’m like a fish out of water, though, when I’m trying to make the easy stuff.  Minute Rice is like one of the easiest “college” foods to make, right?  Yep, I turn it into soup every time.  Don’t get me wrong, I have mastered the real stuff–I’ve even made perfect sticky rice for Pork Tonkatsu Donburi.  Hard boiled eggs?  Perfect if you only want to eat the yolk.  If you were interested in eating the white, well, tough luck, because it’s all ending up in the garbage with the shell.

That is until I discovered Nom Nom Paleo.  Seriously.  This blog and their respective cookbook has changed my life.  I had long ago given up on having hard boiled eggs until I came across this.  I had some old eggs so I figured why not give it a try.  I have now made about 2 dozen hard boiled eggs with this method and the vast majority of them have turned out perfectly.  Epic win.

What do you struggle with cooking?  I always like to challenge myself in the kitchen–maybe Minute rice will be the next mountain I climb!

Leave a Reply

